Let’s Review! “The River Rose” & Book Giveaway

If you like relaxing before bedtime with a good book, you can shed the cares of the day and drift back into the 1850’s American south aboard The River Rose.  Take part in my book giveaway and you’ll be paddle-wheeling down the Arkansas River in no time!  You’ll need your glass of warm milk to fall asleep though because this story of love and adventure is one you won’t want to put down.  This second book in the author’s Water Wheel series was surprisingly different from other book series  in that it is a completely new story instead of  a continuation of the first book, The River Queen.  In The River Rose we meet new characters on a different steamboat working a stretch of the Arkansas and Mississippi Rivers.  This approach gave me a fresh perspective on the era when riverboats were a major source of transportation and livelihood.

Two strangers are brought together when they inherit the Helena Rose from an unknown distant relative.  Jeanne Bettencourt and Clint Hardin at first glance seem as different from each other as night and day but they both bring past experiences, skills and connections that make the operation of a riverboat possible and even profitable.  With their rag-tag but loyal and hardworking crew they overcome challenges to make their partnership a success.

When crisis comes putting her family and her future in jeopardy, Jeanne’s faith and friendships help her navigate the turbulence ahead.

The distinctive personalities of the characters aboard the Helena Rose are delightful.  Their humorous banter made me chuckle and I felt almost a part of a wonderful eclectic family.   The River Rose is a very enjoyable read with a great balance of drama and humor.

Would you like to win your own book?  It’s easy!  Just leave me a comment letting me know what river (or other body of water) you would like to travel and why?  For a second entry, follow Gilbert Morris’ blog, and let me know in a separate comment.  I will leave the giveaway open for one week, on June 27 I’ll draw the winner!

Get to know the author by viewing this  interview with Gilbert Morris: http://youtu.be/kuNkvCqhPTM

You can read the first chapter of The River Rose for yourself by copying this link!

http://www.scribd.com/doc/87882776/The-River-Rose-by-Gilbert-Morris-Chapter-1

Find Gilbert Morris on the Internet:

His website and blog are at http://www.gilbertmorris.com
Subscribe to his blog’s feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/GilbertMorris
Sign up for his e-newsletter (for subscriber-only giveaways and advance notice of my upcoming novels): http://gilbertmorris.com/news.htm
Twitter: @gilbert_morris – https://twitter.com/#!/gilbert_morris
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from B&H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
21 thoughts on “Let’s Review! “The River Rose” & Book Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Win a Copy of 'The River Rose' by Gilbert Morris -- 1850s Steamboat Novel | Gilbert Morris

  2. Good interview, I know I want to read this series, I have read this author before and like his work. I dont know a lot of rivers but would like to travel Savannah river since I live near this body of water and would like to see where it goes from here.
    thanks for sharing this book drawing today
    Paula O(kyflo130@yahoo.com)

  3. I’d love to be entered! 🙂

    Let’s see…. well I’ve always thought I’d love to take a cruise around North America…. Pacific, Atlantic…. and everywhere in between! I have never gone out on anything like that, aside from staying on a house boat on a river in BC for a while…. so I think it’d be a really neat adventure! 🙂

    I’ve read the first book in this series, so I’d love to read the second! 🙂

    You may contact me at: bekahdwall(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Cruises are great. The Frasier River goes through British Columbia doesn’t it? Reading these books gave me a new appreciation for rivers as the lifeline of communities. It is interesting to think of the prominent rivers in the world. Three European Rivers I think it would be fun to travel would be the Volga, Seine and Thames. Thanks for entering the contest!

  4. I’D LOVE TO TRAVEL THE MISSISSIPPI..BECAUSE I THINK THAT WOULD BE ROMANTIC…………….I’M A RETIRED LIBRARIAN AND YOUR BOOKS WERE ALWAYS POPULAR..SURE THEY STILL ARE……THANKS FOR DECENT BOOKS TO READ..

    • It is great to have decent books to read, I’m sure you’ll like this one. You could see a lot of the U.S. traveling the Mississippi, it is such an important River, a little farther west than I thought it was though. I was just looking at a map to get reacquainted with it. Thanks for reading the review!

  5. I hope the contest is still open. Being a gal from Southern California we don’t see much of rivers. I have crossed the Colorado river and the Columbia up in Oregon, tho there’s not much on the Columbia except those wonderful waterfalls.

    Thanks for having this contest.

    Tracy

  6. Hoping the contest is still open, and being a So. California native, there are not rivers here. The Columbia river in Oregon has beautiful waterfalls and I would like to read about that. There is a river that runs through Switzerland that I crossed over, but I don’t remember the name.

    Thanks for this opportunity. I love to read.

    • I never thought about Southern California not having many rivers. I remember the thrill of seeing waterfalls when we moved to Washington from Florida, a spectacular, new experience. I still love them. Thanks for reading the review and participating in the contest.

  7. I would like to travel the length of the Mississippi River, as it occupies such a prominent place in the history as well as the geography of our nation. It must be a spectacular river.

    • You’re right. It is interesting to see all the various cities along the Mississippi. It would be a very interesting and beautiful trip! Thanks for reading the review.

Leave a Reply

