I’m Not a Morning Person

In the quiet early morning with frost upon the pane,

And evergreens in silhouette we greet the day again,

I understand anew the hymn, “When Morning Guilds the Skies”

Prayer satisfies my heart like dew, my soul awakening cries —

“Let Jesus Christ be Praised!”

I am not a morning person.  It is easier for me to stay up until four in the morning than to get up at four in the morning.  In my experience most people extol the virtues of early rising and I struggled to be a part of that superior class but could never quite measure up.  It was welcome relief when I eventually heard night owls being spoken of with acceptance, as if it was due to a difference in biological make-up rather than unconquered laziness.  I could start my day at seven or even eight o’clock and still be a productive member of society after all!

Now that I’m okay with the fact that I’m not one of those more noble morning people I find myself waking up early (around 5 a.m.) more often than I used to.  On the occasions that I actually get up instead of trying to go back to sleep I haven’t regretted it.

There is a certain charm about the first quiet hours of the day.  A hushed beauty that is not quite the same as the quiet of the night.  It is a wonderful time for prayer and meditation.  The almost imperceptible transition from darkness to light is like the gentle transformation God accomplishes daily, moment by moment, in my soul.

As the day dawns I am filled with clarity and vigor that makes me feel as though anything is possible.  Like I’ll be able to zip through everything on my to-do list with utmost efficiency.  A few early morning moments with my husband seem like a mini vacation.  Probably because my infrequent early morning activity is associated with going or being on vacation.  But alas, true to my night owl nature, this early morning optimism and energy is short-lived.  By 10 a.m. I’m in need of  a nap!

Leave a Reply

